Not just a hobby bobby

As it’s National Volunteers Week we thought it only right to focus on the hard work of our volunteer bobbies on the beat…

It’s 2005. I’m a business owner and a family person, and it’s a particularly tough year. I

Special Chief Inspector

decided I needed to get myself out of a personal rut, and someone mentioned that joining the Special Constabulary would be a good way to do that. I thought ‘why not’, and I’ve never looked back.

I was worried that as a Special Constable I would be seen as a ‘hobby bobby’, but in all my years of service that has never been the case. I have always been treated as an equal. I realised that I wasn’t just joining an organisation.

I was joining a family team that is passionate about helping the local community and making a difference.

Friday evenings were the highlight of my week. It was the last day of the working week and I would join the local section to work the night shift until the early hours.

Over the years, I have been involved in many duties and operations ranging from patrol duties, working in the force’s football unit, policing marches, protests and rock concerts and even working duties for foreign forces.

Ten years later, and after a lot of hard work, I’m the area lead for a team of Specials covering central Bedfordshire. To quote my Chief Officer: “The Special Constabulary is only as good as the last job a Special did,” and I pride myself in knowing that my team is doing the best they can to support the policing of Bedfordshire.

Volunteering your time can be hard but every day is different, and always rewarding.

I was once asked why I am a Special Constable. That’s easy.

One person can make a difference, but a team can make an even bigger difference.

 

By Special Chief Inspector Ian Chilvers

Find out more about how to become a Special Constable.

One thought on “Not just a hobby bobby

  1. Irene Craig 5 June, 2015 / 1:05 pm

    Good to see how well the specials are supporting our Police Force.

    Like

Leave a Reply

