A mother’s 14 years of hell

Marcus Hall
Marcus Hall

The mother of late Luton teenager Marcus Hall has spoken out following the sentencing of a sixth man in connection with his murder.

Adebayo Ekun pleaded guilty to his part in the brutal gang attack in March 2001

following an international manhunt tracing him to Nigeria, and was today jailed for life with a minimum term of 10 years.

Marcus mother Icelyn Wilson, 55, issued the below statement about his conviction.

“The impact of the death of my son Marcus, has been soul-destroying on me and my family.

“I have to cope with day-to-day life knowing that I will never get to see my son again.

“The impact on my immediate family, especially my other son who was 14 years old at the time of his brother’s death, and his sister who was nearly 16 years old, has been intensely sad.

“My then-14-year-old son would not speak or communicate with anyone and that has been very hard for me.

“My daughter has spoken freely about Marcus which has been a great help to both her and me.

“My other son was only two years old when Marcus was killed and therefore will never know his big brother and that will hurt me for the rest of my life.

“The death of Marcus will never leave me or my family – 14 years down the line and it still hurts as if it had happened yesterday and I will never get over it.

“I still have my good and bad days and if it was not for the fact that I have my other three children to care for, I think that I would have curled up and died.

“I have to be strong for my other children even when I don’t feel to be strong, I cannot allow grown-up men who murdered my son to win, because if I gave up on life they would have won.

“I would like Adebayo Ekun to know the impact his and the others’ actions in killing my son has had on my family.

“You did not just ruin one life, you left a ‘ripple effect’ which has impacted on everyone involved in my son Marcus’ life.

“You have all taken my first born child, you still can be visited by your family and friends whilst I can only go to the cemetery to see my child – and that hurts most of all.

“I feel that Ekun has shown no remorse for his part in my son’s death, because if he did he would not have put my family and I through 14 years of hell.

“The fact he has been locked up won’t bring my son back but at least he will be able to rest in peace and my family and I can get on with our lives the best we can.

“I would like to thank all the officers of Bedfordshire Police who have helped me and my family for the past 14 years get the conclusion we have today – thank you all for your help and support.”

More information on Ekun’s sentencing.

Leave a Reply

