Eternally grateful

On a Saturday night in May we received reports of an intoxicated woman lying in the road.

The three officers attended and received a hostile reaction from the woman, but were able to take her home and leave her in the care of her family.

Now the woman has written to the force – and in particular the officers who helped her on that evening – to apologise for her actions and thank them. She says:

“I was involved in an incident on Saturday, late evening, I had fallen down due to being intoxicated and some policemen were called by a member of the public due to my position being close to the road, I believe they attended to me and I was pretty hostile to say the least and I was cuffed and placed in the police van for my own safety, they then took me to my home by which time I was told I was ‘kicking off’ big time in the back of the van.

“My family live close by and the officers agreed to release me in to the care of my parents, who were able to calm me down enough to get me out of the police van.  I cannot give you many more details due to having little to no memory of the incident.

“I understand that there were 3 police officers who were present and I would be grateful if you would pass on my sincere apologies and gratitude for my behaviour and actions, I realise they have better and more important things to do than scoop me off the road amidst a barrage of abuse, they had every right to throw me in the police cells for the night.  I am eternally grateful to all of them as I could have been run over and despite my behaviour they took me home.

“If you would pass on the following message I would be thankful.”

letter1

 

Leave a Reply

