Their Time Will Come

IMG_7703In October 2016 Bruce Davison, 77, was sentenced to six years in jail for sexually abusing a boy in the 1970s. Below are excerpts from the victim’s personal statement, showing the devastating impact of child sexual abuse…

“I wish to share with you how being abused by Bruce Davison has affected my life.

“It has ruined my life in so many ways and I will try to explain what this abuse has done to me and how it has made me feel.

“As a young child being groomed and sexually abused so many times by Davison – I thought it was the norm. I didn’t know any better, I trusted him and I thought he was my friend.

“But he abused my trust by taking advantage of me, my young age, my vulnerability, and he took my innocence.

“I feel robbed of my childhood, robbed by Davison, he took away my dignity and self-respect as a child and even as a teenager because his abuse of me spanned so many years.

“I trust Davison completely and was in some ways under his spell and therefore more vulnerable to his sexual abuse tactics.

“I never felt I could speak up as a child, and he would have known I had no-one to tell I was being I abused.

“I have carried the burden of being a victim of sexual abuse now for 47 years and there has not been a day or a part of my adult life, as well as when I was a child, that it has not in some way affected me.

“The burden of being a victim has been on my shoulders, in my heart, and in my head for practically my lifetime. Even good times have been tainted and have not been as pleasurable as they should have been.

“I will always bear the scars because of Davison’s abuse, no matter how my life pans out in the future, I will always have those scars.

“Bruce Davison is a sex offender. He groomed me, he used me, he sexually abused me multiple times.

“He has taken away my childhood and affected my life in so many ways.

“I hope that a custodial sentence gives him the space and time he needs to reflect and understand how his abuse totally has ruined my life and affected the lives of my family.”

The case featured on 24 Hours In Police Custody on 12 June.

If you have concerns about child sexual abuse, you can report it to police via 101 or call the NSPCC on 0808 800 5000.

 For more information and support about child sexual abuse, visit the NSPCC website.

 

 

Leave a Reply

