The efforts your officers put in saved my son’s life

I made a 999 call after discovering my 16-year-old son had left a suicide note hidden in his bedroom, after telling me he had gone to play football with friends.

The call handler I spoke to on the phone said someone would come out to us and once the officers arrived, they were amazing.  They kept me informed, communicated with other officers, spoke to the friends and family who had congregated at my house, did their upmost in keeping me calm and more importantly worked with their colleagues to get my son home safely. Throughout they were so calm and professional.

I didn’t quite understand the efforts that had been made to find him until I arrived at the hospital and saw two police officers who had heroically ran over fields in the dark to locate him.

He was found under a bridge after attempting to hang himself, the relief and exhaustion on their faces were clear to see.

Since then I’ve had family members explain lots of other officers were involved, as well as a helicopter. I now realise just how much effort went into finding my son and from the bottom of my heart I would like to thank everyone involved.

I honestly believed I’d lost him that night and I cannot begin to explain how grateful I am that he’s still here and that is mainly down to the officers from Bedfordshire Police involved in the search.

He has since been discharged from hospital and we are taking it a day at a time. He is currently receiving support from a mental health team, which will hopefully mean he never feels that life isn’t worth living again.

I have no doubt in my mind the work and efforts your officers put in, saved my son’s life that night.

In her own words, the mother of a son who went missing, wrote to the force to thanks officers for their help in finding him and bringing him safely home. She has agreed to let us publish her letter anonymously to highlight our work and to encourage those suffering to get support. You can contact The Samaritans free any time, from any phone, on 116 123. 

Leave a Reply

